Our Committees

Our board is guided by recommendations from three committees:

  • the Complaints and Investigations Committee;
  • the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee;
  • and the Standards Committee.

Complaints and Investigations Committee

The committee is responsible for holding the executive to account for the overall casework performance of the regulator and reassuring the board that the casework function is fit for purpose.

The committee determines the outcome of some individual cases and can reconsider a case that has been remitted to the external reviewer.

The committee also undertakes thematic reviews of casework in order to identify wider lessons or areas of the code that the standards committee may wish to review.

For further information, read about our complaints process. A copy of the terms of reference of the committee is available on request.

Jenny Williams, Chair

Jenny was previously chief executive and commissioner of the Gambling Commission.

Reshard Auladin

Reshard is a trustee of The Bell Foundation and The Early Intervention Foundation, and a non-executive director of the National Crime Agency.

Catherine Cottrell, independent member

Catherine is the Director of Income Generation at Cats Protection. She previously held senior positions at Unicef, RSPCA and Comic Relief.

Ceri Edwards, observer from the Chartered Institute of Fundraising

Ceri is Director of engagement and external affairs at the Chartered Institute of Fundraising and member of the board of the European Fundraising Association.

Andrew Nebel, independent member

Andrew is adviser to the Moorfields Eye Hospital fundraising committee and is chair of trustees of Duchenne UK.

Martin Price

Martin is a third sector consultant and former Chair of the Institute of Fundraising Cymru.

Walter Rader

Walter has over 40 years’ experience across a range of public, voluntary and community sector organisations, including appointments as director, chief executive and accounting officer.

Finance, Audit and Risk Committee

The committee is responsible for monitoring and advising the Board on significant strategic risks.

It manages financial risk, performance, funding and expenditure. It makes recommendations on staff remuneration and considers the appropriate audit arrangements for the regulator.

The committee’s terms of reference are available on request.

Jill Thompson, Chair

Chartered accountant with a background in investment banking.

Sacha Deshmukh

Former chief executive of Smart Energy GB and Unicef UK and former chair of War Child UK.

Kieron James

Telecommunications entrepreneur and founder of the Wonderful Organisation.

Sharon Martin, independent member

Head of finance at Cats Protection, formerly employed by the Charity Commission and the Audit Commission.

Margaret Moore

Former head of competition and regulatory practice at Travers Smith LLP, Vice Chair of Sue Ryder and trustee of Great Britain Wheelchair Rugby.

Standards Committee

The standards committee oversees the development of the Code of Fundraising Practice, in consultation with those who fundraise and the public.

The committee makes sure that standards continue to reflect current fundraising practices, changes to relevant legislation and the expectations of the public.

The committee also has responsibility for the development of additional guidance about the code.

Suzanne McCarthy, Chair

Deputy chair of the Valuation Tribunal Service and chair of the Joint Audit Panel for the Mayor’s Office of Policing and Crime and the Metropolitan Police Service.

Liz Barclay, independent member

Radio and TV broadcaster and producer, chair of the Money Advice Liaison Group and the Credit Union Foundation and member of the Financial Services Consumer Panel.

David Cunningham

Chief executive of Kids Operating Room, and former chair of the Scottish Standards Committee of the Institute of Fundraising.

Daniel Fluskey, observer from the Chartered Institute of Fundraising

Policy development and research lead at the Chartered Institute of Fundraising.

Nick Jones, independent member

Managing director for fundraising, communications and policy at Action for Children, and former interim executive director of marketing, fundraising and communications at Save the Children.

Guy Parker

Chief executive of the Advertising Standards Authority, member of the board and the executive committee of the European Advertising Standards Alliance. 

Annemarie Devlin, observer for Scotland

Panel member of the Scottish Fundraising Standards Panel.